Nominate now for the 2015 National Youth Awards


Federal Member for Bonner, Ross Vasta, today encouraged young people in the community to nominate for the 2015 National Youth Awards.

“This is the third annual series of the Awards, which celebrate the achievements and contributions of young Australians aged 12 to 25,” Mr Vasta said.

“I urge those thinking about nominating to act now.”

Mr Vasta said it was important to celebrate the achievements of young people who are making a lasting, positive difference in their communities.

“Young Australians are doing this every day by volunteering in their local communities, and they deserve to be recognised for the valuable contribution they are making to their local communities,” Mr Vasta said.

“If you know a remarkable young Australian, I strongly encourage you to get involved by logging onto the National Youth Week website and nominating them.”

There are seven Award categories, six of which recognise individuals, and a media award that celebrates positive news reporting about young people in Australia. 

The Award categories are:

– Youth Safety Award;
– Youth Courage Award;
– Youth Culture and Diversity Award;
– Youth Employment Award;
– Youth Health Award;
– Youth Leadership Award; and
– Youth in Media Award. 

Each of the six individual category winners will receive $2,000, a trophy, and a certificate, while the winner of the Youth in Media Award will receive a trophy and certificate.

The Awards are for young people aged 12 to 25 (with the exception of the Youth in Media Award) and applicants can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else.

Applications for the 2015 National Youth Awards close on Thursday, 27 November 2014. 

More information on the National Youth Awards, including entry forms and details of past winners and finalists, is available at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *