Bonner students awarded top prize

Ross Vasta would like to congratulate students from Holland Park State High School, Iona College and Moreton Bay College who have been awarded one of the nation’s top prizes for Year 12 students undertaking Vocational Education and Training in School (VETiS).


The following students are among 500 students to receive the Australian Vocational Student Prize (AVSP), which recognises the skill, commitment and achievements of school students who take on vocational education in their final year.


Holland Park State High School

Sunni Bridgstock

Matthew Seabrook

Brianne Stitt

Ashlee Whitehouse-Rodman


Iona College

Thomas Borthwick

Max William VonRichter


Moreton Bay College

Zoe Atterbury


A further 20 prizes – the Prime Minister’s Award for Skills Excellence in School – have been awarded to the top AVSP recipients across state/territory, industry and Indigenous categories.

These students are not only ambassadors for their school, but representative of the first-class career opportunities that VETiS can provide,” Ross Vasta said.

“The Abbott Government is committed to delivering a VETiS system with stronger links to industry and training providers, ensuring our graduates get high-quality, on-the-job training that equips them with the skills employers need.”


In congratulating these student, Ross Vasta said “the future prosperity of our economy very much depends on a highly-skilled workforce with this generation given an opportunity to pursue a trade or training while at school and deciding on a future career”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *